Blogger Widgets
Blog design and digital scrapbooking elements created by Adori Graphics »

Friday, August 22, 2014

Book Review: Say Her Name

Title: Say Her Name
Author: James Dawson
Genre/s: Young Adult, Horror, Mystery,
Released Date: June 5, 2014
Add to Goodreads TBR List
Buy on Amazon |  Book Depository

Synopsis:

Roberta 'Bobbie' Rowe is not the kind of person who believes in ghosts. A Halloween dare at her ridiculously spooky boarding school is no big deal, especially when her best friend Naya and cute local boy Caine agree to join in too. They are ordered to summon the legendary ghost of 'Bloody Mary': say her name five times in front of a candlelit mirror, and she shall appear... But, surprise surprise, nothing happens. Or does it?

Next morning, Bobbie finds a message on her bathroom mirror... five days... but what does it mean? And who left it there? Things get increasingly weird and more terrifying for Bobbie and Naya, until it becomes all too clear that Bloody Mary was indeed called from the afterlife that night, and she is definitely not a friendly ghost. Bobbie, Naya and Caine are now in a race against time before their five days are up and Mary comes for them, as she has come for countless others before... A truly spine-chilling yet witty horror from shortlisted 'Queen of Teen' author James Dawson.

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Author Interview with Gretchen McNeil + Giveaway


Hi everyone, it's been a while since I last post an author interview on this blog. That is why I am very excited to tell you, that we have Gretchen McNeil ,author of Possess, Ten and 3:59, today and she has a lot of awesome news for all of us about her upcoming book, Get Even.

Q. Hi Gretchen, can you describe Get Even in 5 words to our readers.

"Breakfast Club with body count."

Q. How different is your upcoming book from the last 3 books you wrote?

GET EVEN is more mystery/suspense than my previous books which skewed toward horror. It's also a hell of a lot funnier than my horror novels, which was so much fun to write.

Q. What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing Get Even to life?

The biggest challenge was the size of the cast. There are four main characters, each with their own POV, and each with their own set of friends, love interests, and families. I think there's something like 50 names characters in the book, and getting the most important ones to feel fleshed out and "alive" was a huge challenge!

Q. There are four main characters in your book - Kitty, Olivia, Margot and Bree. Which one of them do you like most? And why?

That's like asking me to pick my favorite child!!! They all have loveable aspects, but I suppose if I have to choose, I'd say Bree because her best friend/love interest is sort of based on my husband. J

Q. The four girls are members of a secret society called, DGM, that takes revenge on bullies. What's your stand on the subject of bullying?

I feel sorry for both sides: the bullies and the victims. Clearly, the bullies themselves have some major issues in life—a subject I address in the sequel GET DIRTY—that's causing them to victimize others. That said, I think we all wish we'd had a secret revenge society in our school looking out for us. The trauma of bullying can stick with you for a lifetime.

Q. What is your favorite scene in Get Even? Can you tell us without giving a spoiler?

My favorite scene comes early on—it’s a revenge mission against a bullying teacher names Coach Creed. I actually read that scene in a vlog that Epic Reads will be posting this month!

Q. This is the first book in your very first series, Don't Get Mad. What excites you about this new project?

I love the possibilities. With a large cast, I can see so many places to take the series if I'm lucky enough to be able to write more books.

Q. Can you share a one-liner from your book that will pique our interest?

From Chapter 1: "If Kitty had ever doubted that Coach Creed needed his ass handed to him, he was making it real easy for her to get over it."

Author Bio:
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Author of YA horror novels POSSESS, TEN and 3:59 (Fall 2013) as well as the upcoming YA mystery/suspense series Don't Get Mad, beginning in 2014 with GET EVEN and continuing in 2015 with GET DIRTY. Gretchen also contributed an essay to the Dear Teen Me anthology from Zest Books.

Gretchen is a former coloratura soprano, the voice of Mary on G4's Code Monkeys and she sings with the LA-based circus troupe Cirque Berzerk. Gretchen blogs with The Enchanted Inkpot and is a founding member of the vlog group the YARebels. She is repped by Ginger Clark of Curtis Brown, Ltd.


Get Even sounds really awesome. And if you think so, too and is thinking of pre-ordering it, Gretchen has a treat for y'all.  Click here to know more about Gretchen's giveaway.

Also, Gretchen gave me some signed book swags for y'all, my awesome blog readers. This is international and will end on September 19.


Friday, August 15, 2014

Book Review: We Were Liars

Title: We Were Liars
Author: E. Lockhart
Genre/s: Young Adult, Mystery, Contemporary
Released Date: May 13, 2014
Add to Goodreads TBR List

Synopsis:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

Friday, August 08, 2014

ARC Review: A World Without Princes (School for Good and Evil #2)

Title: A World Without Princes (School for Good and Evil #2)
Author: Soman Chainani
Genre/s:  Young Adult, Middle Grade, Fantasy, Magic, Fairytale, Friendship,
Released Date: April 15, 2014
Add to Goodreads TBR List
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

In the epic sequel to the New York Times bestselling novel, The School for Good and Evil, Sophie and Agatha are home, living out their Ever After. But life isn’t quite the fairy tale they expected.


When Agatha secretly wishes she’d chosen a different happy ending, she reopens the gates to the School for Good and Evil. But the world she and Sophie once knew has changed.

Witches and princesses, warlocks and princes are no longer enemies. New bonds are forming; old bonds are being shattered. But underneath this uneasy arrangement, a war is brewing and a dangerous enemy rises. As Agatha and Sophie battle to restore peace, an unexpected threat could destroy everything, and everyone, they love—and this time, it comes from within.

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I'm BACK!!!

Hey guys, I'M BACK!!!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Did you miss me? No? Oh, common! I know you missed me. No? Really? Not even a tiny bit? Okay. *head and shoulder slumped*



Well, that's too bad because I missed you guys so much!

Anyway, it's been a while. How have you been? I'm sorry if I haven't updated you guys on what's going on and also, for the unplanned hiatus. It's a necessary sacrifice in order for me to focus on my life and I know you understand that.

The good news is, I now have a job as an IT clerk in our local government and so far, I'm enjoying it. I've also written a lot of new reviews after my review slump, two of which were already posted this week (Seven Wonders Journal and Stolen Songbird). There's more to come, so watch out for that.

You'll definitely be seeing me a lot from now on. So even if you didn't miss me, (which I'm still bummed about, btw) I'll make you happy that I'm finally here again.

Ciao! for now... :)

ARC Review: Stolen Songbird

Title: Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy #1)
Author: Danielle Jensen
Genre/s: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Magic
Released Date: April 1, 2014
Add to Goodreads TBR List
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus: escape. Only the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity.

But something unexpected happens while she’s waiting – she begins to fall for the enigmatic troll prince to whom she has been bonded and married. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods – part troll, part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader.

As Cécile becomes involved in the intricate political games of Trollus, she becomes more than a farmer’s daughter. She becomes a princess, the hope of a people, and a witch with magic powerful enough to change Trollus forever.

Monday, July 21, 2014

ARC Review: Seven Wonders Journal: The Select + The Orphan

Title: Seven Wonders Journal: The Select + The Orphan
Author: Peter Lerangis
Genre/s: Middle Grade, Young Adult, Action, Adventure, Novella
Released Date: April 22, 2014
Add to Goodreads TBR List
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

The Seven Wonders adventures continue in this print bind-up of The Select and The Orphan. The Select tells the story of thirteen-year-old Burt Wenders, the first documented carrier of the G7W gene, and his fated voyage to the island that would eventually come to house the Karai Institute. In The Orphan, learn the story of Daria, orphaned at a young age and enslaved by the Babylonians, and her valiant battle to escape the only city she's ever called home. These titles are together in print for the first time ever.

With key historical details and plenty of backstory surprises, this is a perfect addition to the library of new and continuing fans of the New York Times Seven Wonders series by Peter Lerangis, author of three stories in The 39 Clues series.

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Book Review: Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1)

Title: Murder Complex ( The Murder Complex #1)
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Genre/s: Young Adult, Dystopia,
Released Date: June 10, 2014
Add to Goodreads TBR List

Synopsis:

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.
 
Free blog design by Adori Graphics using the Be Inspired digiscrapping kit by Adorible Digital Designs