Blogger Widgets
Blog design and digital scrapbooking elements created by Adori Graphics »

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I'm BACK!!!

Hey guys, I'M BACK!!!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Did you miss me? No? Oh, common! I know you missed me. No? Really? Not even a tiny bit? Okay. *head and shoulder slumped*



Well, that's too bad because I missed you guys so much!

Anyway, it's been a while. How have you been? I'm sorry if I haven't updated you guys on what's going on and also, for the unplanned hiatus. It's a necessary sacrifice in order for me to focus on my life and I know you understand that.

The good news is, I now have a job as an IT clerk in our local government and so far, I'm enjoying it. I've also written a lot of new reviews after my review slump, two of which were already posted this week (Seven Wonders Journal and Stolen Songbird). There's more to come, so watch out for that.

You'll definitely be seeing me a lot from now on. So even if you didn't miss me, (which I'm still bummed about, btw) I'll make you happy that I'm finally here again.

Ciao! for now... :)

ARC Review: Stolen Songbird

Title: Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy #1)
Author: Danielle Jensen
Genre/s: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Magic
Released Date: April 1, 2014
Add to Goodreads TBR List
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus: escape. Only the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity.

But something unexpected happens while she’s waiting – she begins to fall for the enigmatic troll prince to whom she has been bonded and married. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods – part troll, part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader.

As Cécile becomes involved in the intricate political games of Trollus, she becomes more than a farmer’s daughter. She becomes a princess, the hope of a people, and a witch with magic powerful enough to change Trollus forever.

Monday, July 21, 2014

ARC Review: Seven Wonders Journal: The Select + The Orphan

Title: Seven Wonders Journal: The Select + The Orphan
Author: Peter Lerangis
Genre/s: Middle Grade, Young Adult, Action, Adventure, Novella
Released Date: April 22, 2014
Add to Goodreads TBR List
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

The Seven Wonders adventures continue in this print bind-up of The Select and The Orphan. The Select tells the story of thirteen-year-old Burt Wenders, the first documented carrier of the G7W gene, and his fated voyage to the island that would eventually come to house the Karai Institute. In The Orphan, learn the story of Daria, orphaned at a young age and enslaved by the Babylonians, and her valiant battle to escape the only city she's ever called home. These titles are together in print for the first time ever.

With key historical details and plenty of backstory surprises, this is a perfect addition to the library of new and continuing fans of the New York Times Seven Wonders series by Peter Lerangis, author of three stories in The 39 Clues series.

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Book Review: Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1)

Title: Murder Complex ( The Murder Complex #1)
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Genre/s: Young Adult, Dystopia,
Released Date: June 10, 2014
Add to Goodreads TBR List

Synopsis:

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

Saturday, May 03, 2014

Stacking the Shelves #12 / GWIMM #27

Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga's Reviews is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

Before, I show you guys what I received this week, I would like to thank you for still visiting my blog despite my lack of post and updates on social media. I've been busy looking for work (going to job fairs and interviews) since the start of January so you know how time consuming that is right? Currently, I still don't have a job but I'm pretty positive that I will have one, soon. :)

Anyway, I'm pretty excited this week because I received a package from my favorite publisher, HarperCollins. It's been a while since I received any books from any pub so it's surprising to see this box arrived at my doorstep. 

FOR REVIEW



Thank you so much to Megan from Harper Collins for all this gorgeous ARC.

What did you get this week? Leave your links here! I'd love to see them too.

Friday, May 02, 2014

Book Review: The Madman's Daughter

Title: The Madman's Daughter
Author: Megan Sheperd
Genre/s: Young Adult, Historical Fiction
Released Date: January 29, 2013
Add to Goodreads TBR List

Synopsis:

In the darkest places, even love is deadly.

Sixteen-year-old Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself in London—working as a maid, attending church on Sundays, and trying not to think about the scandal that ruined her life. After all, no one ever proved the rumors about her father's gruesome experiments. But when she learns he is alive and continuing his work on a remote tropical island, she is determined to find out if the accusations are true.

Accompanied by her father's handsome young assistant, Montgomery, and an enigmatic castaway, Edward—both of whom she is deeply drawn to—Juliet travels to the island, only to discover the depths of her father's madness: He has experimented on animals so that they resemble, speak, and behave as humans. And worse, one of the creatures has turned violent and is killing the island's inhabitants. Torn between horror and scientific curiosity, Juliet knows she must end her father's dangerous experiments and escape her jungle prison before it's too late. Yet as the island falls into chaos, she discovers the extent of her father's genius—and madness—in her own blood.

Inspired by H. G. Wells's classic The Island of Dr. Moreau, The Madman's Daughter is a dark and breathless Gothic thriller about the secrets we'll do anything to know and the truths we'll go to any lengths to protect.

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Book Review: Impostor (Variants #1)

Title: Impostor (Variants #1)
Author: Susanne Winnacker
Genre/s: Young Adult, Paranormal, Mystery
Released Date: January 2, 2014
Add to Goodreads TBR List
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

Tessa is a Variant with extraordinary abilities. She could be a hero, but all she wants to do is fall in love ...

Tessa is a Variant, able to absorb the DNA of anyone she touches and mimic their appearance. Shunned by her family, she's spent the last two years with the Forces with Extraordinary Abilities, a secret branch of the FBI. There she trains with other Variants, such as long-term crush Alec, who each have their own extraordinary ability.

When a serial killer rocks a small town in Oregon, Tessa is given a mission: she must impersonate Madison, a local teen, to find the killer before he strikes again. Tessa hates everything about being an impostor - the stress, the danger, the deceit - but loves playing the role of a normal girl. As Madison, she finds friends, romance, and the kind of loving family she'd do anything to keep.

Amid action, suspense, and a ticking clock, this super-human comes to a very human conclusion: even a girl who can look like anyone struggles the most with being herself.

Thursday, April 24, 2014

ARC Review: Split Second (Pivot Point #2)

Title: Split Second (Pivot Point #2)
Author: Kasie West
Genre/s: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance
Released Date: February 28, 2014
Add to Goodreads TBR List
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

Life can change in a split second.

Addie hardly recognizes her life since her parents divorced. Her boyfriend used her. Her best friend betrayed her. She can’t believe this is the future she chose. On top of that, her ability is acting up. She’s always been able to Search the future when presented with a choice. Now she can manipulate and slow down time, too . . . but not without a price.

When Addie’s dad invites her to spend her winter break with him, she jumps at the chance to escape into the Norm world of Dallas, Texas. There she meets the handsome and achingly familiar Trevor. He’s a virtual stranger to her, so why does her heart do a funny flip every time she sees him? But after witnessing secrets that were supposed to stay hidden, Trevor quickly seems more suspicious of Addie than interested in her. And she has an inexplicable desire to change that.

Meanwhile, her best friend, Laila, has a secret of her own: she can restore Addie’s memories . . . once she learns how. But there are powerful people who don’t want to see this happen. Desperate, Laila tries to manipulate Connor, a brooding bad boy from school—but he seems to be the only boy in the Compound immune to her charms. And the only one who can help her.

As Addie and Laila frantically attempt to retrieve the lost memories, Addie must piece together a world she thought she knew before she loses the love she nearly forgot . . . and a future that could change everything.

 
Free blog design by Adori Graphics using the Be Inspired digiscrapping kit by Adorible Digital Designs