Tuesday, October 21, 2014

2AMC: Madeliene Kuderick, author of Kiss of Broken Glass

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

"Vivid and descriptive...a moving story about a serious issue." that's what School Library Journal said about Kiss of Broken Glass which is the debut novel of our featured author for today. So without further ado, I'd like to welcome on my blog, Madeleine Kuderick.

About Writing:
While you were in the process of writing this book, have you ever doubt yourself or second guess the reason why you are writing this story? If yes, how did you overcome those obstacles?

I was extremely driven to write this book and did not have any moments where I second guessed myself about why I was writing it. That said, I felt a tremendous responsibility to write this story in an authentic voice and there were times when I found myself writing and re-writing verses to ensure the words rang true.

About Getting Published:
As an aspiring author, hearing about how authors got published is always fascinating and inspiring for me. So can you tell us your journey to publication? And what was the first thing you did or said after you got the news about the book deal?

I began attending SCBWI conferences and learning to write for the YA audience in 2008. I had pieces published in magazines and anthologies along the way but it wasn’t until December 2012 that the stars aligned for my first book. I was attending an SCBWI conference in Miami and had submitted ten pages of my manuscript for critique. The reviewer was NY Times Best Selling author Alex Flinn who was moved enough by my piece to recommend it to her own agent. That led to my signing with Sterling Lord Literistic, Inc. and ultimately receiving a two book deal from HarperCollins. The entire process took about three months from conference to contract which is incredibly fast and felt like an absolute whirlwind at the time.

About Being an Author:
Tell us what it's like to be a published author? What was your most favorite moment in this whole experience, aside from seeing and holding a physical copy of your book?

There have been so many wonderful moments along this journey from a fantastic trip to New York to meet my brilliant editor Toni Markiet, to seeing the cover art for the first time, to hearing my words read by the talented Katie Schorr on the audiobook, and on and on. It’s really hard to choose a favorite. But I think the most meaningful moments have been when I received feedback from readers, especially those who have struggled with self-harm, saying that my book struck a chord with them or helped them to feel less alone.

About the Book:
Just like superheroes, I think it's safe to say that books also has an origin story before they became what they are right now. It might started out as a thought, an experience, a dialogue you heard, a conversation with a friend, or an idea that has been plaguing your brain for quite sometime. So tell us, what's your book's origin story? And what made you decide to write it?

I’m a real believer in the adage that sometimes you don’t choose the story, the story chooses you. In my case, this story began with my daughter’s real life experience when she was exposed to cutting as early as the sixth grade and eventually experimented with self-harm. But it’s important to remember that KISS is a work of fiction. So while my daughter’s experiences influenced me deeply, I also spent hundreds of hours researching the blogs and Tumblr pages of other teens struggling with self-harm. Eventually I developed Kenna, a fictional character who embodied all those brave and aching voices, and I felt compelled to tell her story. I think this book is vital now, more than ever, because there seems to be a surge happening. Self-harm is more prevalent, visible, and competitive than it has ever been before. I wanted to write a book about what it would be like to get swept up in that, and how hard it might be to get out.

About the Author:
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Madeleine Kuderick grew up in Oak Park, Illinois, a community with rich literary tradition, where she was editor-in-chief of the same high school newspaper that Ernest Hemingway wrote for as a teen. She studied journalism at Indiana University before transferring to the School of Hard Knocks where she earned plenty of bumps and bruises and eventually an MBA. Today, Madeleine likes writing about underdogs and giving a voice to those who are struggling to be heard.

Title: Kiss of Broken Glass
Genre/s: YA, Contemporary Fiction, Verse Novel
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: September 9, 2014
Amazon | Barnes and Nobles | IndieBound | Book Depository


Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.
Books for YA! © 2015